Plenary Speaker

Shri P Kunhikrishnan assumed charge as Director of Satish Dhawan Space Centre SHAR, Sriharikota in June 2015. He is spearheading the entire operations at SDSC SHAR, the Space Port of India, and is instrumental in providing world class launch service facilities to meet the requirements of our country as well as commercial launches of other nations.

Before taking over as the Director of SDSC SHAR, he has played significant role as the Project Director of Polar Satellite Launch Vehicle (PSLV Project) from June 2010 to March 2015. During his tenure as Mission Director, 13 consecutive successful PSLV missions were accomplished, adding each of these to ISRO's cherished successes. These include launch of India's prestigious Mars Orbiter by PSLV C-25 and the first four IRNSS satellites for NavIC by PSLV C-22, C-24, C-26 & C-27. The versatility of PSLV was utilized to its full extent to carry out different types of missions and to place satellites in Polar, Planar and Sub-Geosynchronous Transfer orbits, posing technological and managerial challenges for mission planning and execution.

Shri P Kunhikrishnan has joined ISRO in the Systems Reliability Entity of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC), Trivandrum in 1986 after completion of B.Tech in Electronics & Communication from College of Engineering, Trivandrum (CET). Since then he has contributed significantly to various launch vehicle missions of ISRO, starting from ASLV-D1. He has shouldered many responsible positions in ISRO such as Head of the Quality Division for Test & Evaluation in VSSC, Associate Project Director for PSLV-C12/RISAT-2 & PSLV-C14/Oceansat-2 missions, Project Director of PSLV and Deputy Director, VSSC for Mechanisms, Vehicle Integration and Testing (MVIT).

Shri P Kunhikrishnan is the recipient of ISRO Individual Merit Award for the year 2010, Astronautical Society of India (ASI) award for the year 2011, ISRO Performance Excellence award in 2013, ISRO Team Excellence Award-2013 as Team Leader of PSLV-C25/Mars Orbiter Mission and Swadesi Sastra Puraskar for the year 2015.

He is the National President of Indian Society of Systems for Science & Engineering- ISSE.

In recognition of his outstanding contributions, Jawaharlal Nehru Technological University (JNTU), Anantapur, AP has conferred him with honorary degree of Doctor of Science in the year 2016.
He has also been honoured with the Vigyan Pratibha Samman 2017 by the State Government of Madhya Pradesh